Dr. Thomas Lucas House
The Dr. Thomas E. Lucas House is a two-story frame house built ca. 1868. The house has a central-hall plan, a three-bay façade, and a one-story porch across the façade. A medium pitched gable roof is covered with composition shingles. The house has a one-story wing at the rear. The central doorway has four paneled sidelights and a transom. An antebellum smokehouse, a ca. 1885 gazebo (originally used as a hothouse), and several other outbuildings are located on the spacious, tree-shade grounds. The house is associated with Dr. Thomas E. Lucas, a farmer, physician and politician. In 1864 Lucas resigned his position as a lieutenant in Company A in the Fifteenth Battalion, South Carolina Artillery, to serve in the South Carolina House of Representatives. According to Lucas’s granddaughter, Dorothy Cannon Gibbons, the residence was constructed with money Lucas earned as a physician for Union troops stationed in Chesterfield after the Civil War. Tradition also states that former Confederate soldiers returning from the war individually carved the home’s unique interior mantels. This house is representative of the typical residences of the nineteenth century: a two-story, central-hall farmhouse facing the main street with extensive lands around and behind the structure. Listed in the National Register May 4, 1982.
Chesterfield County's Historic LandmarksHistoric Landmarks of South Carolina's MidlandsSouth CarolinaSouth Carolina Historic HomeSouth Carolina National Historic RegisterThomasLucasHouse