Landsford Plantation is an unusual example of early nineteenth century upper South Carolina vernacular design. It is characterized by rigid symmetry, axial entrance, and sash windows and has breakaway exterior chimneys and a raised, fully enclosed stone foundation. It is believed that Frederick William Davie had the two-and-one-half story, timber-framed weatherboarded residence built ca. 1828. The house has a square plan and is two rooms deep. The main façade faces south. A one-story porch, resting on brick piers, extends across the south façade and continues around the east and north facades. The porch, at least on the south elevation, was added about the turn of the twentieth century. Perhaps unique among South Carolina homes of similar vintage, the staircase is at the side entrance rather than the common front entry hall location. Landsford has three exterior breakaway chimneys of narrow breakaway design, two on the west gable and one on the east gable end. Single gable windows on the east and west elevations with nine-over-six lights appear at the attic story. Centrally placed entrance doors are located on the east façade. A sheet metal gable roof has been placed over the original wooden shakes. The porch also has a metal roof. Landsford Plantation achieved local prominence as the social center of a large (three thousand acres) Piedmont cotton plantation in the mid-nineteenth century. Of the original outbuildings, only a barn of log construction remains. Listed in the National Register February 4, 1987.
Chester County's Historic Register LandmarksHistoric Landmarks of South Carolina's UpstateSouth CarolinaSouth Carolina Historic HomeSouth Carolina National Historic RegisterLandsfordPlantationHouse